Chevalier Rinaldo Barbetti's stunning masterpiece.
'Les A' has been welcoming society's finest since the early 19th century. Today Les Ambassadeurs exemplifies the very best in British gaming clubs and has an unrivalled reputation as befits a building that has entertained kings and millionaires, politicians and playboys since its earliest days.
Number 5 Hamilton Place, which stands on the site of one of King Henry VIII's hunting lodges is thought to have been built in 1810 and has been home to some of the UK's finest families.
The Fourth Earl of Buckinghamshire, politician Robert Hobart, was the first inhabitant from 1812-1816, followed by an even grander, and more colourful, aristocratic family - the Marquis Conyngham.
The property remained in the family until 1878 when the 3rd Marquess Conyngham sold the house and the family dropped out of the public eye.
The following year Leopold de Rothschild bought the house to use as his London residence marking a new chapter in the history of No. 5 Hamilton House.
Rothschild drastically remodelled the mansion to suit his extravagant tastes. The overall style was heavily influenced by fin de siecle Louis XV with Renaissance flourishes.
Leopold de Rothschild commissioned world famous Florentine master wood carver Chevalier Rinaldo Barbetti to create the magnificent library and staircase, the Library at Les Ambassadeurs remains as one of the world's best examples of Barbetti's work. Equally impressive is the ceiling in the Marble Room depicting The Four Seasons by Edmund Parris.
The next owners of No. 5 Hamilton place were Captain Leonard Frank Plugge and his wife Mrs Gertrude Anne Muchleston who lived here until 1950 when they sold the house to John Mills.